Autumn Days

When I was young, one of my favourite songs to sing in school assembly was called Autumn Days, it has some lovely lyrics (and some pretty bonkers ones) as this verse typifies:

Autumn days, when the grass is jewelled
And the silk inside a chestnut shell
Jet planes meeting in the air to be refuelled
All these things I love so well

Seriously, who has ever seen jets refuelling in the sky… anyway, some of the lovely images such as

a winter’s moon with frosted rings

and

Whipped-up spray that is rainbow-scattered
And a swallow curving in the sky

really stuck with me, and I felt that quintessential autumnal essence very strongly today.

Huddersfield University campus Blushing leaves Autumn colours Leaf veins autumn colours Huddersfield narrow canal

And on this lovely autumn day I couldn’t resist wearing autumn colours

Autumn wear Autumn wearMatalan top, Skirt by Hummingbirds- I think! I certainly bought it at Towersey Village folk festival, necklace from Wild Wood, Bude, Cornwall

Hope everyone’s enjoying this lovely spell of sunny weather.

Leave a Reply

