Skinny Healthy Chips

Today I made veggie lasagne, usually my man would request cheesy garlic bread as an accompaniment, but this time I didn’t give him a chance! I wanted something a bit different and a bit healthier as a side dish, so I created these mixed white potato and sweet potato skinny healthy chips with a “southern fried” inspired flavour.

sweet and white potato chips

First you have to cut your potatoes into chips, I peeled mine this time, but next time I think I’d leave them unpeeled, and just scrub them a bit, for even more healthy fibre and flavour. I cut mine really skinny, about 5mm across; my partner doesn’t like the floury texture of white potato so I figured that the thinner I made them the less of that fluffyness there would be.

Chip spice mix

I then made a mix in a plastic sealable bag consisting of:

1 tsp cornmeal

1tsp white flour

couple of turns of the pepper grinder

1/2 tsp mixed herbs

1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp cumin

and added the chips and gave them a really good shake to coat them all over. It’s easiest to do this if you make sure there’s some air in the bag before you seal it to give the chips some room to move.

Coating the chips Chips with southern spices

I then added about 1tbsp of olive oil to the bag and massaged the chips again to coat them all over. This was all the oil I used for this entire batch of chips. I then spread them on a baking tray lined with a silicone sheet – I find that sweet potato chips stick to trays a lot, so a non-stick tray or silicone sheet is essential.

This is what they looked like before baking.Skinny mixed potato chips

Healthy Skinny Chips

And after. I cooked them for about 35 minutes, turning once on GM6 (that’s 200C or 400F) – not fan assisted. Sweet potato needs to cook long and low, so err on the side of caution temperature-wise, better to take longer than to burn, even mine had a few burnt patches so I  might try GM5 (190c/375F) next time.

I hope you try these, they were delicious and the coating gave them a lovely crispy outer layer.

I hope everyone’s having a good weekend.

Until next time x

Leave a Reply

