Banana Lumpia

Today I was catching up on my blogs (I subscribe to so many and do binge blog reading when I get an hour free) and I read this lovely recipe from one of my favourite food blogs, Half Baked Harvest. Tieghan’s photos are just gorgeous and I knew I couldn’t possibly resist making her ‘Sweet Banana Lumpia’ RIGHT NOW.

So I did.

I adapted her recipe a bit as I didn’t have all the ingredients. For my wrappers I used rice pancakes (the kind you use to wrap up crispy aromatic duck)

Banana Lumpia

I also used some runny honey (which I zapped in the microwave to make it even runnier) and some melted butter. I first brushed each pancake with water to make them more pliable then with honey, laid the banana pieces on top and wrapped up into a neat parcel. When I had six wraps I brushed them all over with the melted butter.

Banana Lumpia

Here they are ready for the oven.

I then made the coconut-chocolate dipping sauce. I combined the left over butter and honey (waste not want not) with some shavings from a block of creamed coconut and three squares of dark chocolate and melted in the microwave.

Coconut dipping sauce

This resulted in a silky shiny sauce which has stayed liquid all evening.

The final finished result looked like this:

Banana Lumpia

Very glad to have tried this tasty Filipino treat!

Leave a Reply

