I have a Secret Identity

My friend has a superpower http://theamericanspeaks.com/2014/07/31/amongst-mere-mortals/

What he doesn’t realise is that I have a super hero costume. I can walk straight past people wearing my normal clothes, people who I’ve seen many times, some even over a number of years and just like Peter Parker or Clark Kent, if I’m not in my super suit, they don’t recognise me, or they just give me this weird ‘have I maybe seen you somewhere before?!?’ look. It even works on my own boss!

Want to see my super hero outfit?

Wait for it…

Ta-dah!

WIN_20141208_180246

That’s right, I don’t even have a face mask! Not even a skinny black one like The Incredibles wear!

But I did used to have a hat, interestingly, losing the hat has made me no more or less recognisable.

IMG-20140110-00020

Of course I realise here that the trick is situatedness, my customers are used to seeing me at the cafe in uniform, seeing me outside the cafe in plain clothes is somehow incongruous – and it’s not that they don’t see me as a proper person I think, though thinking about it, it’s the people who take the time to talk to me who recognise me more often and more easily…

So I guess the moral of the story is if you meet Superman, chat to him, maybe he’s had a rough day, and then perhaps when you walk past that muscular vaguely-familiar man on the street you might be able to put two-and-two together!

…and also that making a mean cappuccino is a really shit super power.

Leave a Reply

