Plants Update

I’ve written on this blog before about the avocado plant I grew from a seed. But I don’t think I’ve blogged about my two other awesome plants, my ivy that I’ve had since I was maybe 12 years old and my amaryllis that I’ve had for about 7 years. The ivy has been through a lot, it’s survived all my student houses, and once when it was quarantined in the garden because of an infestation, it was mown by my landlord! It also fell of a windowsill in my first student house and broke out of its pot. I love it because it’s part variagated part plain leaved and has lovely gnarly vine roots:

The amaryllis may not have been mown or fallen off a windowsill,  but it’s still totally badass; that pot used to be circular. Let me just let that sink in!

IMG_20160528_171239

And it’s about to flower soon, which is exciting!

And the real news this week is that I’ve finally re-potted my avocado which had been making a valiant effort to escape is pot. It was crazy root bound to a degree which definitely has to be seen to be believed:

It was starting to look ridiculously top-heavy in its tiny pot and looks a lot better now! Check out how tall it’s got :

 

IMG_20160528_145536007IMG_20160528_151345036

Nearly as tall as me! (excuse my nighty, didn’t really think this picture through…)

Leave a Reply

